Grilled portobello mushrooms

Grilled portobello muchroomsHere’s a truly simple recipe for grilled portobello mushrooms. Before I get into it I’ll say that for the most part I don’t even like mushrooms, but grilled portobello mushrooms changed my mind. That smokey flavor really makes them taste like steak. And in fact I almost prefer it to steak.

All I did was slice portobello mushrooms into 1/4 inch slices and laid them on the grill for about 3 to 5 minutes. When they became nice and browned I took them off the grill and my family devoured them in about 60 seconds. This is a simple and heart healthy way to get delicious protein.

These were gone in 60 seconds!
These were gone in 60 seconds!

With mushrooms I’d say to cook them till they look almost burned. When they are nice and crispy they are the best. Actually if I can take a quote from Alton Brown off his show Good Eats “There is a fine line between burned and perfect.” That one quote has helped me cook everything from fried chicken to these grilled portobello mushrooms.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did.

By, Cody Childress

Leave a Reply

