Delicious slow cooker Italian beef

Italian beefSo it’s come time for me to show you a recipe that my father always called Italian Beef. This is a very simple crock pot recipe that takes about 5 minutes to prep but about 6 hours of cooking in the crockpot. I have to say this is one crazy delicious dish. Here’s how I do it:

Chuck roastFirst I just took a regular chuck roast, in this case it came pre sliced which turned out easier to shred it later, but an unsliced one works very well too, and I put it in the crockpot. I was kinda lucky because my aunt for some reason had a brand new crock pot that was just sitting in a box unused and it had a built in timer which I thought was pretty cool. I then turned the crockpot on as high as it would go and put a full teapot on the stove to boil.

Only 6 hours to goWhile I was waiting for the water to boil I chopped one whole white onion and 4 cloves of garlic and threw them in the pot along with 3 bay leaves and tablespoon each of dried oregano and basil. Then I added the juice of one lemon as well, this helps make the beef super tender. When the water boiled I filled the crockpot pretty much to the top with boiling water. The boiling water helps cut down the cooking time, considering crockpots take forever to heat up I just sped up the process a little.

And then I just waited for about 6 hours, which was so hard because the house smelled like garlic and beef and made my mouth water, which actually led me to eat half of a frozen Tombstone pizza to keep from losing my mind haha.

Italian beef sandwich

When the 6 hours were up the beef was as always super tender, so then all I did was shred it up and made sandwiches on rolls with Swiss cheese and then used the broth to dip the sandwiches in, kinda like a French dip sandwich but just not French… Oh and I also picked the three bay leaves out, they aren’t really edible they just add nice flavor to the beef. I wouldn’t want to end up eating one in a sandwich, that wouldn’t be very pleasant.

imageAlso I went a step further this time I made it and took the broth and put it in a separate pot and boiled it until half of the water evaporated. Which is again a lot like what the au jus for a French dip sandwich. This method basically just condenses the beef flavor in the broth. It was well worth the extra 15 minute wait for the broth to condense.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and please share it if you like it!

By, Cody Childress

Leave a Reply

